Date: 20 April 2022



Town Hall, Penrith, Cumbria CA11 7QF

Tel: 01768 817817

Email: cttee.admin@eden.gov.uk

Dear Sir/Madam

Council Agenda - 28 April 2022

Notice is hereby given that a meeting of the Council will be held at 6.45 pm on Thursday, 28 April 2022 in Cumberland Hall, Ullswater Community College, Wetheriggs Lane, Penrith CA11 8NG.

Please note: if you would like to attend this meeting, we request that you contact Democratic Services to let us know. Contact details are below*. We would also request that wherever possible, those attending continue to wear face coverings and practice hand sanitising measures. This is due to ongoing concerns in relation to the Covid pandemic.

1 Apologies for Absence

2 Declarations of Interest

To receive declarations of the existence and nature of any private interests, both disclosable pecuniary and any other registrable interests, in any matter to be considered or being considered.

3 Minutes

RECOMMENDED that the public minutes CI/70/02/22/ to CI/83/02/22 of the meeting of Council held on 24 February 2022 be confirmed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record of those proceedings (copies previously circulated).

4 Chairman's Announcements

5 Questions by the Public

To receive questions from the public under Rule 10 of the Constitution.

6 Questions by Members

To receive questions from Members under Rule 12 of the Constitution.

7 Motions on Notice

To consider motions on notice under Rule 13 of the Constitution.



8 Review of the Deputy Chief Executive Salary (Pages 5 - 8)

To consider the attached report DoR29/22 of the Chief Executive, which sets out the recommendation of the sub-committee of the HR and Appeals Committee regarding the review of the salary of the Deputy Chief Executive.

RECOMMENDED that

- 1. the Deputy Chief Executive's salary be permanently revised to £89,463 with effect from 1 January 2022 and the associated back pay be made; and
- 2. the additional funding be met from earmarked reserves.

9 Allocation of Seats to Committees (Pages 9 - 18)

To consider the attached report DoR31/22 of the Assistant Director Legal and Democratic Services in respect of the distribution of seats in accordance with the rules of political proportionality, and to make appointments to the Committees for the remainder of the 2021/2022 municipal year.

RECOMMENDED that:

- 1. the proposed allocation of seats as set out in this report be approved;
- 2. the appointment of Members to Committees as set out in Appendix 2 be approved; and
- 3. the Green Group and Labour Group adopt a reciprocal arrangement where the nominated Members can act as Standing Deputies.

[Please note: Appendix 2 to this report will be sent 'to follow'.]

10 Date of Next Scheduled Meeting

The next scheduled meeting of Council be confirmed as Thursday 26 May 2022 at 6.45.pm. This is the Annual Council Meeting.

Yours faithfully,

I Frost Interim Chief Executive

*Democratic Services Contact: Email: cttee.admin@eden.gov.uk

or telephone: 01768 212266

Encs

For Attention

All members of the Council

Chairman – Councillor A Connell (Liberal Democrat Group) **Vice Chairman** – Councillor D Banks (Independent Alliance Group)

Councillors

R Burgin, Liberal Democrat Group R Briggs, Conservative Group A Armstrong, Conservative Group P G Baker, Liberal Democrat Group I Chambers, Conservative Group M Clark, Independent Group

J Derbyshire, Liberal Democrat Group

P Dew, Conservative Group M Eyles, Liberal Democrat Group H Fearon, Conservative Group

K Greenwood, Independent Alliance Group

M Hanley, Labour Group

L Harker, Liberal Democrat Group D Holden, Liberal Democrat Group S Lancaster, Independent Group

D Lawson, Green Group

J C Lynch, Conservative Group

E Martin, Independent Group

N McCall, Liberal Democrat Group

A Meadowcroft, Conservative Group

G Nicolson OBE, Conservative Group

W Patterson, Independent Alliance Group

J Raine, Conservative Group

M Robinson, Independent Alliance Group

A Ross, Green Group

M Rudhall, Liberal Democrat Group

D Ryland, Independent Group

H Sawrey-Cookson, Independent Group

G Simpkins, Liberal Democrat Group

L Sharp, Labour Group

D Smith, Liberal Democrat Group

V Taylor, Liberal Democrat Group

A Todd, Conservative Group

M Tonkin, Independent Alliance Group

D Wicks, Conservative Group

C Atkinson, Conservative Group

Standing Deputies

Please Note: Under the Openness of Local Government Bodies Regulations 2014 this meeting has been advertised as a public meeting (unless stated otherwise) and as such could be filmed or recorded by the media or members of the public